St Kitts and Nevis (WINN): St. Kitts and Nevis is one of five CARICOM member states that signed an agreement to the CARICOM Arrest Warrant Treaty on Thursday (July 6).

The CARICOM Arrest Warrant Treaty seeks to establish protocol between Caribbean nations concerning the arrest and surrender of criminal fugitives or wanted persons suspected of committing a crime in their home country.

The treaty is meant to reduce the costliness and lengthiness of the extradition process between CARICOM countries, and ensure more expedient justice.

The arrest warrant treaty was raised for signing at the 38th meeting of the Heads of Government of CARICOM in Grenada on July 6th.

Ten member states of CARICOM did not accede to the Treaty, which, according to the Secretary-General of CARICOM Dr. Keith Mitchell was due to the fact that many of the countries had internal issues relative to the law itself and want to be cautious concerning extradition treaties.

However, Dr. Mitchell said that CARICOM gave member states the opportunity to change their own legislation to align with the statutes set by the Arrest Warrant Treaty before requesting their signatures on the agreement. The CARICOM Arrest Warrant Treaty has been on the books since 2008, and was partially ratified in 2009, however, only Antigua and Barbuda, Trinidad and Tobago, and Suriname signed the document up to 2016.

St. Kitts and Nevis, Guyana, Dominica, Grenada, and St. Lucia were the CARICOM member states that recently signed the agreement. 


Author: Jendayi OmowaleEmail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Recent Articles

Add comment

Security code